Winter Conference Austin

The 2024 ATPI Winter Conference will take place in Austin March 1-2, 2024. Classes and on-site contests on Friday will take place at the Texas Capitol Underground Complex. Saturday classes will be at Austin Community College Highland Campus. The keynote and awards will be Friday evening.

Early bird registration is $35/person until Feb 9. Registration is $45/person for regular registration. Walk-in registration will be $55/person. No refunds after Feb 21. Registration includes a Saturday box lunch. Registration is capped at 300 for students.

A Code of Conduct form will need to be submitted for each student competing in contests prior to the convention. The form can be downloaded from the link below.

ATPI also suggests the following to all teachers:

– Consider encouraging students to take a rapid test 72 hours before leaving for the convention.
– Consider purchasing at least one rapid antigen COVID-19 test to bring to the convention.
– Every participant should upload a signed Code of Conduct form. Contact with any questions.
– Bring extra masks for students who may lose or damage theirs at the convention.
– Make sure you have a medical release form for each of your students so you will have the ability to seek medical treatment if that should be necessary.
– Consider having a plan in writing for what steps you will take if a student experiences symptoms on the trip. Distribute this plan to parents. It should include the following at minimum:
– Students (or adult chaperones) experiencing symptoms should isolate themselves in their room. Any roommates should be moved to another room.
– Contact the student’s parents as well as ATPI Vice President John Skees ( so we can determine if other students were exposed.
– Parents should make immediate arrangements for any student experiencing symptoms to return home as soon as possible at their own expense to prevent spread.

Conference T-Shirts

Orders for shirts have closed.

We will once again be offering conference shirts. If you aren’t attending the conference you can still order a shirt and include money for shipping.
Instructors may choose to direct students to the order site and have them pay individually (include the school name in the order) or order for everyone at once.
The shirts are a dark grey tri-blend in either short sleeve or long sleeve. The short sleeve is $18.34 and the long sleeve is $24.89. A small fee is added for credit card payments.
Orders MUST BE placed by February 9, 2024.

Conference Hotel

This year’s hotel block will be at the Holiday Inn Midtown Austin. The hotel is just across the street from the ACC-Highland campus as well as multiple dining options.
The block contains singles and doubles. Rooms are available in the block on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. All rooms have coffeemakers, mini-refrigerators and televisions. Complimentary wi-fi, fitness center access and a breakfast buffet is included. Rate is $129/night.
Click here to book your room(s) at the Holiday Inn. You will need a credit card to hold the reservations. Be sure to modify the dates if you do not need the room all three nights (Feb 29, Mar 1 and Mar 2).


On Friday we recommend cars and vans use the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage.

On Saturday, schools can park in the parking garage connected to the campus. If you are bringing a bus, please email us for parking instructions.

ATPI Keynote Speakers

Feb 1998 – Julie Newton
Feb 1999 – Dennis Darling
Feb 2000 – Judy Walgren
Feb 2001 – Keith Carter
Feb 2002 – Danny Turner
Feb 2003 – Dirck Halstead
Feb 2004 – Susan Kae Grant
Feb 2005 – Chris Rainier, sponsored by Canon
Feb 2006 – Robb Kendrick
Feb 2007 – David Hume Kennerly, sponsored by Canon
Feb 2008 – Bill Fortney, sponsored by Nikon
Feb 2009 – Jay Kinghorn, sponsored by Olympus
Feb 2010 – Gregory Heisler, sponsored by Canon
Feb 2011 – Robb Kendrick
Feb 2012 – Sam Abell, sponsored by Canon

Feb 2013 – Elizabeth Kreutz
Feb 2014 – Kirk Tuck, sponsored by Precision Camera and Video
Feb 2015 – John Isaac
Feb 2016 – Stan Godwin
Feb 2017 – Dixie Dixon, sponsored by Nikon
Feb 2018 – James Balog, sponsored by Nikon
Feb 2019 – Brandon Thibodeaux
Feb 2020 – Donna DeCesare
Feb 2021 – Pete Souza
Feb 2022 – no keynote
Feb 2023 – Rick Trujillo
March 2024 – William Snyder

Sponsors Have Included